MS Live Search hitting web sites with fake referer information

02Nov07

Maybe you’ve already heard of this, since it’s not very recent news, but I thought it was worth mentioning because it hasn’t got the exposure it deserves, plus it appears it’s still going on.

I had been spotting dozens of strange organic search referers in a web site’s stats lately: extremely generic keywords, that do occur in the web site’s corpus of web pages, but for which that web site never ranked on any search engine that I know of.

Today I finally decided to check out the logs, and ran into this:

65.55.165.122 - - [02/Nov/2007:05:07:14 +0100] "GET /requested/url.html HTTP/1.0" 200 51862 "http://search.live.com/results.aspx?q=keyword&mrt=en-us&FORM=LIVSOP" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.2; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)"

It would look like a genuine Live Search referer, except that:

  1. the requested URL is nowhere to be found on the referring SERP (note the unusual FORM=LIVSOP URL parameter);
    and
  2. the client IP is from Redmond.

Hmm… :/

A simple Google search pointed me to the right answer: it turns out that this is a “quality check” [sic!] that the Live Search team have been doing for a while, as officially confirmed by msndude (Live Search’s rep) in this WebmasterWorld thread (msg #3442263).

Now, why the Live Search folks decided to hit web sites with fake referers is beyond me: maybe a stupid attempt to check for referer-based cloaking? I dunno. I had seen Slurp (Yahoo!’s crawler) issuing a spoofed user-agent before, but nothing nearly as sneaky and spammy as this. Many small webmasters are understandably furious about Microsoft deliberately choosing to fill their logs with junk.

The only advice I can give them is to filter out all referers having the string “FORM=LVSP” or “FORM=LIVSOP” in the URL.

A few blog references:

3 Responses to “MS Live Search hitting web sites with fake referer information”


  1. 1 Stefano Gorgoni Posted November 2nd, 2007 - 10:30 pm

    well, i think you spotted the point. referer-based cloaking is maybe the hardest cloaking to detect.

    so, adding a fake referer can help search engines to find it out… :)

    am i wrong?

  2. 2 Everfluxx Posted November 3rd, 2007 - 11:59 am

    Hi Stefano! :)

    I’m still not sure this is an automated check for referer-based cloaking. The same IP has also been requesting linked CSS and JS files… Take a look:

    65.55.165.15 - - [02/Nov/2007:02:02:58 +0100] "GET /requested/url.html HTTP/1.0" 200 65429 "http://search.live.com/results.aspx?q=keyword&mrt=en-us&FORM=LIVSOP" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.2; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)"
    65.55.165.15 - - [02/Nov/2007:02:02:59 +0100] "GET /css/main.css HTTP/1.0" 200 2832 "http://www.example.com/requested/url.html" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.2; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)"
    65.55.165.15 - - [02/Nov/2007:02:02:59 +0100] "GET /js/prototype.js HTTP/1.0" 200 96046 "http://www.example.com/requested/url.html" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.2; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)"
    65.55.165.15 - - [02/Nov/2007:02:03:00 +0100] "GET /js/scriptaculous.js?load=effects HTTP/1.0" 200 2152 "http://www.example.com/requested/url.html" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.2; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)"
    65.55.165.15 - - [02/Nov/2007:02:03:01 +0100] "GET /js/effects.js HTTP/1.0" 200 31969 "http://www.example.com/requested/url.html" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.2; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)"
    65.55.165.15 - - [02/Nov/2007:02:03:01 +0100] "GET /js/lightbox.js HTTP/1.0" 200 23825 "http://www.example.com/requested/url.html" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.2; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)"
    65.55.165.15 - - [02/Nov/2007:02:03:02 +0100] "GET /css/lightbox.css HTTP/1.0" 200 1637 "http://www.example.com/requested/url.html" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.2; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)"

    If the guys at MS really wanted to check for cloaking, why issue an easily recognizable (and, thus, cloakable!) referer in the first place?

    I don’t think this was intentional, after all.

    I think the referer with the “FORM=LIVSOP” parameter might have been leaked by an internal interface used by Live Search’s quality raters instead (remember, msndude said this was a “quality check”)… Maybe (I’m guessing) “LIVSOP” = “LIVe Search OPerator [Console]”? ;)

    Just a thought…

Who's linking?

  1. 1 MSN Live Search Spam BOT Cloaked referrals - Yack Yack SEO Pingback on Jun 21st, 2008
    "[...] MS Live Search hitting web sites with fake referer information [...] "

Leave a Reply


Comment guidelines: No spamming, no profanity, and no flaming. Inappropriate comments will be deleted outright.